Home / Seedance
AI Video · ByteDance ✓ Verified Jul 2026 Last audited: 2026-07-06

Seedance:
What the pricing page doesn't tell you

ByteDance's flagship AI video model — accessed via Dreamina internationally. Based on public docs, community testing, and pricing analysis across 5 platforms.

Hidden Behaviors
0
documented & verified
Transparency
38%
of key policies disclosed upfront
Last Verified
Jul 2026
Dreamina · ~$18/mo Standard
Hidden Behaviors
5 documented

Behaviors confirmed through pricing analysis, community testing, and official platform docs — not disclosed on Dreamina's main pricing page.

01⬤ Critical Impact
Monthly subscription credits expire — yearly plans and credit packs are the only rollover option
Official
Not on Dreamina pricing pageMonthly subscription credits expire at cycle end with no rollover. Only yearly plan credits (12-month validity) and one-time credit packs (never expire) carry forward — not disclosed in the plan comparison table.
Observed (community)
Inconsistent monthly workflows penalizedCreators with variable output months (one big project, then quiet) silently lose credits. The only protection is buying yearly upfront or one-time packs — neither is the default checkout option.
Estimated (not verified)
Annual plan saves ~50% + rolloverDreamina Standard annual works out to roughly 2× more cost-efficient than monthly once rollover value is included. But it also locks you in before Seedance 2.5 pricing changes.
02⬤ Critical Impact
International access restricted Feb 2026 after deepfake scandal — Dreamina now invite-only
Official
Not communicated to usersByteDance restricted international Dreamina access in mid-February 2026 with no advance notice. Dreamina's international Seedance 2.0 access shifted to invite-only Creative Partner Program — no public waitlist.
Observed (community)
Triggered by celebrity deepfakesViral deepfake videos of Tom Cruise and Brad Pitt generated with Seedance 2.0 prompted Disney's legal team to issue a cease-and-desist to ByteDance. The MPA demanded stricter access controls days later.
Estimated (not verified)
Access fragmented across 5+ platformsUsers outside China must route through Runway, CapCut, third-party resellers, or BytePlus API — each with different pricing, features, and content restrictions.
03⬤ Critical Impact
Dreamina costs 2× more than Jimeng for the identical Seedance model
Official
Different platform, same modelDreamina (international) and Jimeng (China) both run the identical Seedance 2.0 model. Dreamina Standard runs ~$18/month; Jimeng Standard runs ~$9.60/month (69 RMB) — a 2× premium purely for English-language access.
Observed (community)
Per-clip cost also higher on Dreamina115 credits per 5-second clip on Dreamina vs ~70 credits on Jimeng. The same video generation costs ~65% more credits on the international platform with no quality difference.
Estimated (not verified)
International users pay a language taxThe Dreamina premium exists solely to cover localization and regional infrastructure. ByteDance has not publicly justified the pricing gap.
04⬤ Medium Impact
Free tier's 225 daily credits are shared across ALL Dreamina tools — not Seedance-only
Official
Disclosed in Dreamina help docsThe 225 daily free tokens on Dreamina are shared across image generation, video generation, editing tools, and avatars — not a dedicated video credit pool.
Observed (community)
1–2 videos/day maximumAt 115 credits per 5-second Seedance clip, 225 daily credits = barely 1–2 video generations per day. Using any other Dreamina tool further reduces video output.
Estimated (not verified)
Free tier is a demo, not productionDreamina's marketing implies a meaningful free tier. In practice, 1–2 watermarked clips per day with no commercial rights is insufficient for any workflow beyond initial testing.
05⬤ Medium Impact
Resolution and audio each roughly double credit cost — stacking both multiplies by ~4×
Official
Disclosed in credit documentationSeedance 2.0 charges per-second with cost scaling by resolution (720p→1080p≈2×) and audio (adding native audio adds ~50–100%). Each upgrade multiplies the bill.
Observed (community)
$0.60 draft → $4+ final cutCommunity testing shows a 720p no-audio draft at ~$0.60 per clip becomes $4+ once 1080p and native audio are enabled — a 6-7× cost jump for "finished quality."
Estimated (not verified)
Draft-first workflow saves ~40%Always prototype at 720p/no-audio first. Upgrading only confirmed shots reduces monthly spend by roughly 40% without compromising final output quality.
Real Limits
Seedance 2.0 via Dreamina Standard
~$18/mo · International access
Credits
Monthly credits expire at cycle end · Yearly plan or credit packs required for rollover
Clip Length
Up to 15 seconds (Seedance 2.0) · Seedance 2.5 expected to extend to 30 seconds (Jul 2026)
Resolution
Up to 2K · audio support included · each resolution step ~doubles credit cost
International Access
Invite-only via Dreamina since Feb 2026 · Runway, CapCut, BytePlus API as alternatives
Free Tier
225 shared daily credits (all Dreamina tools) · watermarked · no commercial use · 1–2 clips/day max
Jimeng vs Dreamina
Same model · Dreamina costs 2× more — $18/mo vs ~$9.60/mo (Jimeng, Chinese-language only)
⚠ The international access trap
International users pay 2× more than Chinese users for the identical Seedance model via Jimeng. Dreamina's direct access is now invite-only. Routing through Runway or third-party resellers adds another cost layer on top.
Policy History

Key events since launch — documented with source type.

Jun 2025
Seedance 1.0 launches on Dreamina — text-to-video and image-to-video with native audio and cinematic camera control
OFFICIALByteDance press release
Feb 12, 2026
Seedance 2.0 launches globally — multi-shot storytelling, 2K output, improved character consistency across scenes
OFFICIALByteDance Seed blog
Feb 2026
Deepfake celebrity videos go viral — Disney C&D issued, MPA demands access controls; ByteDance restricts international Dreamina to invite-only within days
OBSERVEDcommunity + tryonr.com
Jun 23, 2026
Seedance 2.5 announced at Volcano Engine FORCE — 30-second clips, 50 multimodal reference inputs, native 4K, 10-bit color, controllable editing
OFFICIALVolcano Engine FORCE conference
Jul 2026
Seedance 2.5 public launch expected — pricing not finalized; 30-second and 4K generation likely to consume significantly more credits than 2.0
ESTIMATEDgamsgo.com analysis — upcoming
Transparency Score
Credit Expiry PolicyNOT on pricing page
Monthly credits expire silently. Only yearly plans and credit packs roll over — not disclosed in Dreamina's plan comparison table.
source: cutout.pro testing
International Access RestrictionNO advance notice given
Access restricted without warning after deepfake scandal. Users discovered the lock-out by attempting to log in, not via official communication.
source: community reports
Resolution/Audio Credit Multiplierin credit docs only
Cost scaling by resolution and audio is documented in credit guides but not surfaced on the main pricing page where purchase decisions are made.
source: official credit documentation
Native Audio Includedclearly disclosed
Seedance 2.0 includes native audio generation — a genuine competitive advantage over Runway (silent) that is disclosed on the product page.
source: ByteDance Seed product page
Jimeng vs Dreamina Price GapNOT disclosed to intl users
International users paying Dreamina rates have no way of knowing Jimeng offers the same model at half the price — ByteDance does not cross-reference platforms.
source: stevenvideo.com pricing analysis
Overall Transparency Score
Access fragmentation and the Jimeng/Dreamina price gap are the biggest issues for international users.
38%
Other Services
Visit Dreamina (Seedance)
Frequently Asked
Do Seedance / Dreamina credits roll over?
Monthly subscription credits expire at the end of the billing cycle with no rollover. Only yearly plans (credits valid for 12 months) and one-time credit packs (never expire) carry forward. If your usage is inconsistent month to month, yearly or credit pack purchases prevent waste.
Why is Seedance so hard to access internationally?
ByteDance restricted international Dreamina access in mid-February 2026 after deepfake videos of Tom Cruise and Disney characters generated with Seedance 2.0 went viral. Disney issued a cease-and-desist and the MPA demanded stricter controls. Dreamina's international access shifted to an invite-only Creative Partner Program with no public waitlist. Alternatives include Runway (Seedance 2.0 bundled in Standard+), CapCut, and BytePlus API for developers.
Is Seedance cheaper than Runway or Kling?
Via Jimeng (Chinese-language): yes, significantly cheaper — around $9.60/month. Via Dreamina internationally: comparable to Runway Standard at ~$18/month, but with more credits per dollar on equivalent generations. Via third-party resellers: Atlas Cloud Fast tier starts at ~$0.022/sec, which is the cheapest per-second API rate among all major video AI models including Veo 3.1 and Kling 3.0.
What's new in Seedance 2.5?
Announced June 23, 2026 at Volcano Engine FORCE conference: 30-second native clips (vs 15s in 2.0), 50 multimodal reference inputs (vs fewer in 2.0), native 4K output, 10-bit color depth, 3D white-box preview, and controllable video editing. Public launch expected early July 2026 via Dreamina and Volcano Engine API. Pricing not yet finalized — expect higher credit consumption for 30s/4K generations.
Get alerted when policies change

We track silent limit cuts before most users notice them.

How we audit — full methodology and source classification