Home/ Runway vs Kling AI
Side-by-side · Verified Jul 2026

Runway vs Kling AI: The real cost per video

16 seconds vs 2 minutes. Silent video vs native audio. 34% vs 22% transparency. Here's what each platform won't show you on its pricing page.

Runway
Runway AI · $12/mo (Standard, annual)
34%
Transparency Score
5 hidden behaviors · 625 credits = only 25s of Gen-4.5 video
vs
Kling AI
Kuaishou · ~$10/mo (Standard, annual)
22%
Transparency Score
5 hidden behaviors · Failed generations burn credits — Trustpilot 1.3/5
Head-to-Head

Key dimensions compared — sourced from official docs, community reports, and third-party benchmarks.

Dimension Runway Kling AI
Entry Price $12/mo (annual) · $15/mo monthly ~$10/mo (annual) · first month promo ~$6.99
Max Clip Length 16 seconds — shortest among major tools Up to 2 minutes — best in class
Native Audio None — silent video, external tool required Yes (Kling 2.6+) — doubles credit cost
Credit Rollover No rollover — expires at cycle end No rollover — expires monthly
Failed Gen Cost Not explicitly charged per fail Failed gens consume credits — confirmed
Resolution Up to 4K (paid plans) Up to 4K (Apr 2026 launch)
Transparency 34% — higher but still poor 22% — lowest video AI audited
Trustpilot Not rated (B2B focus) 1.3/5 from 318 reviews
Cancellation Standard subscription cancellation Friction reported — no clear cancel button
Best For Cinematic quality, professional editing Long clips, motion physics, 2-min videos
Hidden Behaviors

Documented behaviors not disclosed on either pricing page.

Runway — 5 documented
⬤ Credits expire monthly — no rollover on any plan
⬤ "Unlimited" Explore Mode throttled 5–20 min at peak
⬤ 625 credits = ~25s Gen-4.5 video total — not disclosed upfront
⬤ Veo 3/3.1 excluded from Explore Mode — requires paid credits
⬤ Unlimited plan auto-switches to Max Sep 1, 2026 — no in-app warning
Kling AI — 5 documented
⬤ Failed generations burn credits — not disclosed anywhere
⬤ Credits expire monthly — including on annual plans
⬤ 660 credits = 9–18 videos in Professional Mode, not 33 as marketed
⬤ Native audio doubles credit cost to 10 credits/sec
⬤ Ultra plan +41% price hike in 6 months — no annual plan available
Who Wins Each Dimension
Clip Length
16s max — forces multi-clip stitching
Up to 2 minutes — best in class
Native Audio
None — silent output by default
Kling 2.6+ includes audio (costs 2× credits)
Transparency
34% — higher score, clearer docs
22% — lowest video AI audited
Billing Safety
No explicit failed-gen charges
Failed gens charged at full rate
Price Stability
Standard dropped $15→$12 in May 2026
Ultra +41% in 6 months
Cinematic Quality
Gen-4.5 — #1 on AI Analysis benchmark
Strong but trails Runway on photorealism
Support
Chatbot + email (slow but exists)
Trustpilot 1.3/5 — refunds often denied
High Volume
Explore Mode cost-effective at scale
Credit burn unpredictable with iterations
The Verdict

Which platform fits which workflow.

Choose Runway if…
✓ You need cinematic, photorealistic quality
✓ You work in professional editing workflows
✓ You want the best benchmark scores (Gen-4.5 #1)
✓ You need 4K export for broadcast
✓ You produce short-to-medium clips under 16s
Choose Kling AI if…
✓ You need clips longer than 16 seconds
✓ Dance, action, or physics-heavy motion
✓ Native audio is important to your workflow
✓ You can manage credit burn carefully
✓ Budget is the primary concern at low volume
Frequently Asked
Is Runway or Kling AI cheaper?
Kling AI starts cheaper at ~$10/month vs Runway's $12/month. But Kling's effective cost per usable clip is often higher because failed generations still burn credits and Professional Mode costs 3.5× more than Standard Mode. At high volume (50+ videos/month), Runway's Explore Mode becomes more cost-effective since there's no per-video credit cost in that tier.
Which has longer video clips?
Kling AI wins by a wide margin — up to 2 minutes per clip. Runway is limited to 16 seconds maximum, the shortest cap among major AI video tools. This makes Kling far better for narrative content, music videos, or any project requiring sustained scenes without stitching.
Does either include native audio?
Kling AI includes native audio generation in Kling 2.6+ models, though enabling audio doubles the credit cost per second. Runway exports silent video by default across all plans — you need a separate tool like ElevenLabs or Adobe Audition for audio. This is one of Runway's biggest gaps versus competitors.
Which is more transparent?
Runway scores higher at 34% vs Kling's 22%. Kling's Trustpilot rating of 1.3/5 driven by billing complaints, failed generation charges, and cancellation friction makes it the least transparent video AI tool audited by this database. Runway's main gaps are the undisclosed credit expiry and Explore Mode throttling.
Read Full Reports

Each report includes Policy History, Real Limits, Transparency Breakdown, and all Hidden Behaviors with Official / Observed / Estimated sourcing.

Get alerted when policies change

We track silent limit cuts before most users notice them.